Palmers Restaurant, Bethnal Green

Veal from Palmer's, Bethnal Green

Oh, Palmers. You are everything I love about dining out (except maybe for your dentist’s waiting room decor). You have friendly, efficient staff, an interesting menu, reasonable prices and properly wonderful food. If only you were not a ten minute walk from Bethnal Green tube station past an undeniably dodgy set of estates, I feel you would be bursting with happy punters every day of the week.

The first time I visited you I loved the veal with pancetta, wild mushrooms, asparagus and potato rosti (pictured), even if it was a bit decadent for a Monday night. And the second time, my plate of duck confit and duck breast with incredible sides that I don’t quite remember the details of was superb. Your desserts aren’t as amazing as your mains, but hey, I shouldn’t be eating them anyway. I wish you every luck and happiness for the future, Palmers, and I hope everybody who reads this books a table and braves Roman Road, for they will not be let down.

Palmers Restaurant
★★★★✰  £££
238 Roman Road, E2 0RY, 0208 980 5590

Leave a Reply

